Thursday, September 27, 2012

Twenty-One 4-H Members Recognized as “Best of the Best” at 4-H Alumni Event

Twenty-one 4-H club members from southwest Missouri received special recognition Sunday, Sept. 23, at the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds in Springfield according to Byron Morrison, chairman of the Greene County 4-H Foundation.

“As part of our annual 4-H Alumni Reunion and Pie Supper it was our privilege to recognize outstanding 4-H’ers from across southwest Missouri,” said Morrison.

Nearly 200 4-H family members, friends and alumni gathered at the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds to honor current members, visit old friends and bid on pies and cakes as part of the Foundation’s annual fund raising event.

Jasper County 4-H alum Andrew Chandler and Greene County’s 4-h alum Wallace Squibb were joint master of ceremonies for the program. Boyd Rice of Lockwood and Scott Burns of Strafford donated their time as the auctioneers.

The member “cake wars” contest winners were Sherry Kelley and Taylor Hollis representing the Greene County 4-H Teen Council.

The Horsin’ Around 4-H Club won the club award for most active participating club.

The 4-H Foundation presented recognition plaques to 4-H’ers from 12 of the 16 counties in southwest Missouri. The following is a list of honorees organized by county.

Jasper County: Alyssa Rockers and Hannah Rockers.

Barton County: Caitlin Moreno and Mycah Reed.

Polk County: Alyssa Presley and Michaela Higginbotham.

McDonald County: Hannah Sherman.

Newton County: Brandi Denefrio and Madelaine Giebler.

Lawrence County: Sydney Rice and Katie Pennell.

Dallas County: Keayra Gene Kelso and Brittany Eagleburger.

Dade County: Angelica R. Kostik and Ethan Manke.

Greene County: Breanna Hollis and Taylor Hollis.

Christian County: Grant Goolsby and Isabella Biondo.

Webster County: Mark Lawrence and Katie Wantland.

For information on 4-H contact any of these 4-H youth development specialists in southwest Missouri: Velynda Cameron in Polk County at (417) 326-4916; Bob McNary in Jasper County at (417) 358-2158; Karla Deaver in Lawrence County at (417) 466-3102; or Jeremy Elliott-Engel in Newton County at (417) 455-9500.


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home