Saturday, January 12, 2013

Extension Regional Council for New Southwest Region Meeting Jan. 22 in Springfield

The Southwest Region Extension Council will meet at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 22 at the Greene County Extension Center, 2400 S. Scenic Avenue in Springfield.

This is the regional extension council’s regular quarterly business meeting. However, this meeting is the first time representatives from the extension counties in Douglas, Howell, Ozark, Texas and Wright counties have attended since being added to the Southwest Region.

“We’re excited about new faculty and staff we’ll be working within these areas. The new alignment also changes the Southwest Regional Council. I am looking forward to working with the new staff and council members as we restructure the Southwest Region,” said Jay Chism, interim director of Southwest Region, University of Missouri Extension.

Council reorganization, committee selection, officer and state council delegate selection will be the main focus of the meeting.

Regional Extension Council meetings are open to the public; but due to limited space, advance registration is necessary by calling the regional extension office at (417) 865-0707.

The regional extension council for southwest Missouri is comprised of representatives from each of the 18 extension county councils in the Southwest Region. Each county council, whose members are elected by a public vote, selects its own representatives to the regional council where each county has one vote.

The purpose of regional extension councils is to be a forum through which member county councils cooperate in providing effective educational programs for the region.


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home