Thursday, March 28, 2013

Lawrence County Woman Named 4-H Volunteer Award Winner for 2013

Contact: Karla Deaver, 4-H youth development specialist
Tel: (417) 466-3102

Janella Spencer of Lawrence County was named a 2013 Frank Graham4-H Volunteer Leadership Award winner by the Missouri 4-H Foundation on March 15. Spencer was recognized for her commitment to the University of Missouri Extension 4-H youth development program.

“It is our great pleasure to honor Janella Spencer with the Frank Graham Volunteer Leadership award for her dedication to Missouri 4-H,” said Cheryl Reams, executive director of the Missouri 4-H Foundation. “It is volunteers like Janella who have made Missouri 4-H the quality experience for young Missourians that it is today, and we are indebted to Janella for her service.”

Janella Spencer is extremely committed to 4-H. In addition to serving as club leader for the largest club in the county, she has served as County 4-H Council Chairperson and Vice Chairperson. She is also an extraordinary cake decorating project leader, and has taught her students the fine art of cake decorating very successfully.

Through Janella’s leadership, the county 4-H program has become completely self-sufficient in their fund-raising efforts, and started a new fund raiser and healthy living event, a 5K run. She encourages her club members to become involved at the county, regional and state level, and these efforts have paid off. Many of the Mt. Comfort club members have participated in national level events.

The Frank Graham 4-H Volunteer Leadership Award recognizes leaders who work to guide our youth. The award is named for Frank Graham, who served as director of MU Extension 4-H Youth Programs from 1958 to 1975. During his tenure of 33 years, Mr. Graham was an avid supporter of volunteer leadership, and still believes that volunteers are the foundation of the 4-H program.

For information on 4-H contact any of these 4-H youth development specialists in southwest Missouri: Karla Deaver in Lawrence County at (417) 466-3102; Velynda Cameron in Polk County at (417) 326-4916; Bob McNary in Jasper County at (417) 358-2158; Amy Patillo in Howell County at (417) 256-2391; or Jeremy Elliott-Engel in Newton County at (417) 455-9500.


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home