Thursday, January 23, 2014

Results of Taney County Extension Council Election Announced

Contact: Chrystal Irons, business development specialist
Headquartered at the Taney County Extension Center
Tel: (417) 546-4431

FORSYTH, Mo. – Chrystal Irons, county program director for University of Missouri Extension in Taney County, says the results are in for the 2014 Taney County election.

A total of nine individuals were elected to serve two terms on the county extension council following a weekly long public election (held Jan. 13 to Jan. 19).

Eastern District:  Leroy Adams – Forsyth, Peter C. Frantzen – Forsyth, Waunetta Howard – Walnut Shade, Angela Leist – Walnut Shade, Theresa J. Socha – Saddlebrook.

Western District: Webb Edwards – Branson, Jeremy Rasnick – Point Lookout, Ryan Sanders – Hollister, Peter D. Tsahiridis – Branson.

Council members are responsible for carrying out four main duties: working with extension specialist to provide educational programs to county residents, overseeing the finances of local extension operations, providing personnel to carry out extension activities, electing and organizing the local extension council.

MU Extension’s distinct land grant mission is to improve lives, communities and economies by producing relevant, reliable and responsive educational strategies that enhance access to the resources and research of the University of Missouri.  Educational needs determined in each county help determine local extension programming.

The first meeting for the new council is scheduled for Tuesday, March 4, 2014.

# # #


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home