Monday, October 06, 2014

Nineteen 4-H’ers Recognized as Best of the Best at Sept. 21 Event Hosted by Greene County 4-H Foundation

Contact: Monica Spittler, 4-H youth development specialist
Headquartered at the Taney County Extension Center
Tel: (417) 546-4431

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Nineteen 4-H Club members from across southwest Missouri were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments as the “Best of the Best” Award winners by the Greene County 4-H Foundation on Sunday, Sept. 21.

The event was held in Center Hall at the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds as part of the annual Pie Auction and Cake Wars fundraising event held by the Greene County 4-H Foundation.

Missouri 4-H is University of Missouri Extension's youth development program.

“It is always a pleasure to recognize youth for growth and development thru their 4-H participation in southwest Missouri,” said Byron Morrison, vice-chairman of the Greene County 4-H Foundation.

Eleven counties had members recognized for their current involvement in 4-H.  Each county could nominate two members to receive this special recognition.

Plaques were provided for 4-H’ers from:  Jasper County – Eli Meyer and Hannah Andrews;  Greene County – Blake Wright and Lora Wright; Christian County – Dallas Goolsby and Grant Goolsby; Lawrence County – Joel Adams and Hannah Adams; Hickory County – Sydney Bailey and Abagail Hammer;  Dade County – Blake Daniel Cossins; Webster County – Jessie Terry; Polk County – ReAnna Owens and Hannah Norblitt;  Newton County – Jacob Boeglin and Brianna Werner; McDonald County –Collin Thacker and Katrina Eubanks and Barry County – Joshua Rittenhouse.

The 4-H program helps to create opportunities for young people to be valued, contributing members of their community. To learn how to get involved locally go to

Residents of southwest Missouri can contact any of these 4-H youth development specialists with MU Extension for  information: Karla Deaver in Lawrence County at (417) 466-3102; Monica Spittler in Taney County, (417) 546-5531; Bob McNary in Jasper County at (417) 358-2158; Jeremy Elliott-Engel in Newton County at (417) 455-9500; Taylor Bryant in Howell County at (417) 256-2391; or Janice Emery in Texas County at (417) 967-4545.


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home