Thursday, January 09, 2014

Greene County Extension Council Election Runs Jan. 20-24

Contact: David Burton, civic communication specialist
County Program Director - Greene County
Tel: (417) 881-8909

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- Citizens of voting age in Greene County have an opportunity to elect eight new members to the University of Missouri Extension Council for Greene County during the time period of Jan. 20 – 24, 2014. 

The elected and appointed members of the extension council will guide and direct extension work within the county.

This year, there are eight candidates for eight open seats, all of which carry two year terms: Harold Bender, Springfield; Albert (Earl) Niewald, Springfield; Katie Steinhoff, Springfield; Kip Thompson, Springfield; Nancy Williams, Springfield; Parrish Witt, Bois D’Arc; Jan Wooten, Rogersville; and Tamara vonFoerster, Rogersville.

Detailed candidate biographies can be found at with the online ballot starting Jan. 20 or can be requested by mail by calling (417) 881-8909. Ballots can be obtained online through the same website, Jan. 20 – 24, 2014, or at the offices of Greene County Extension.

County Extension Council elections are held pursuant to the provisions of Sec. 262-577, R. S. Mo. 1969 in Missouri State Law.

One-hundred percent of Greene County residents can benefit from the economically sound advice and unbiased, research-based information and education available from University of Missouri Extension programs in Greene County. Specialists with MU Extension offer educational programs that make lifelong learning fun and help people help themselves. More information is available at or by calling the MU Extension office in Greene County at (417) 881-8909.


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home