Thursday, June 23, 2016

Current Table of Contents for the "Missouri Directory of Historic and One-Room Schools"

The "Missouri Directory of Historic and One-Room Schools" is a project of the Missouri Historic Schools Alliance and is being authored by David Burton. The directory highlights the very best historic and one-room schools in Missouri as a historic resource and as a tool for developing heritage tourism around these existing historic schools.

Indivduals are invited to submit information to include a school in this directory. For information on how to submit a school for the directory read this blog entry.

Here is the current Table of Contents for the book which includes the lists that are listed.

Northwest Missouri Schools
Baker School (Trenton)
Banneker School (Parkville)
Franklin Academy (Lawson)
Hicklin School (Lexington)
Hickory Grove School (Maryville)
Hudson School (Appleton City)
Mt. Gilead School (Kearney)
Nyhart School (Butler) - more information needed
Pony School (St. Joseph)
Rockford School (Harrisonville) - pictures needed
South Gale School (Smithville)
Swain School (Chillicothe)
Walnut Grove School (Lathrop)

Northeast Missouri Schools

Ballwin School (Ballwin)
Florida School (Florida)
Friendship School (St. James)- more information needed
Indian Prairie (Union)- more information needed
Lincoln School (Canton)
Mount Hope (Defiance)
Oak Hill (Hannibal)- more information needed
Rolling Heath School (Ft. Leonard Wood)
Salem School (St. Clair)
Salt River (Hannibal)- more information needed
Saverton School (Saverton) - more information needed
Stone School (Hannibal)
Old Pond School (Wildwood)

Central Missouri Schools

Audrain County School (Mexico)
Elm School (Warrensburg)
Harper School (Harper)
Mt. Sterling School (Mt. Sterling)
Newcomer School (Columbia)
New Lebanon School (New Lebanon)
Pleasant View School (Medford)- more information needed

Southwest Missouri Schools   

1872 Neosho Colored School (Neosho)
1905 School (Springfield)
Bellview (Springfield)
Black School (Cassville)
Boston Center School (Branson)
Bruner (Douglas County)
Bunker Hill (Pineville)- more information needed
Carver School (Neosho)
Cave Springs (Cave Springs)
Chapman (Pierce City)
Cresent (Buffalo)
Dry Valley School (Sarcoxie)
Elmira (Red Oak)- more information needed
Enterprise (Saddlebrook)
Flint Hill (Willard)
Greenwood School (Marshfield)
Kings Prairie School (Monett)
Liberty School (Springfield)
Little Country School (Seneca)
Little Moore School (Lawrenceburg)
Locust Prairie (Fair Grove)
Mt. Pleasant School (Ozark)- more information needed
New Bethel School (Anderson)
Newton County School (Neosho)
Newport School (Lamar)- more information needed
North Star School (Strafford)- more information needed
Northward (Bolivar)
Phelps (Halltown)
Oak Trail School (Silver Dollar City)
Rocky Point School (Marshfield)
Schuyler School (Springfield)
Shiloh School (Liberal)
St. Elmo (Republic)
Star School (Point Lookout)
Sycamore School (Marionville)
Willey School (Willard)
Wooley Creek (Cape Fair)
Southeast Missouri Schools

Alice School (Cabool)
Higgerson School (New Madrid)
Kage School (Cape Gireadeu)
Plunk School (Doniphan)
Stephens School (Marquand)
Story’s Creek School (Alley Spring)
Texas County Schools (Assorted)


Post a Comment

Let us know how you have been helped by this article or what you have learned from this story.

<< Home